Tags

, , ,

I might repeat myself her, but I read a post on the Quilt Talk group and though I post a little more throuroguh post on how I do. This way is probably very unorthodox (this is not for the faint of heart), but it works for me – at least for hexagons. When it comes to sharp poins – see earlier post.  When it comes to circles there are two ways I know that works – the Karen Kay Buckley way and the Sandra Leichner. I like them both.

  1. Make a template out of mylar (heatresistant) plastic. 1
  2. Place the template on the fabric and cut the fabric in roughly the shape of the template. Place the template on the wrong side of the fabric piece and cut around with appr. 1/4in seam allowance. It doesn’t have to be exact, the edges won’t show. Put the template to the side. 3
  3. Take a water soluble glue stick and lightly cover the seam allowance with glue. From my experience there are glues and there are glues. You just have to experiment on not-so-valuable pieces of fabrics. Your want the fabric to get dry and crisp, not gluey after you have ironed it. I use Panduro’s (Swedish hobby shop, like a small version of Michael’s) glue stick.
  4. Put the template on the fabric at the wrong side.
  5. Fold the fabric over the template and glue the sides to the template. When I do my octagons I first glue the opposite sides (every second side) and then fold the rest. Make sure every angle is crisp and aligned by pressing them towards the template. 54
  6. Press both the front and back side with a medium warm iron, no steam. If you have acrylic nails, beware of the heat.
    6Let it cool for a bit, let the edges dry up.
  7. Gently unfold the sides, starting with the ones you turned over the last 8. Then the rest. Remove the template and fold back the allowances as they was. Gently press each side, taking care that they are folded back properly and that all sides are straight and the corners sharp. 9

Voila!! A perfect octagon. I’m sure it will work as well on hexagons and squares, maybe even triangles if you take care to fold the points correctly. 10

The reason I use glue and not starch is that the template won’t lay still with just starch and when it comes to straight edged shapes, you want all side even and the corners sharp.

And I do know – the finished octagon above looks lopsided, but it’s not. It’s just me and the camera….

GOOD LUCK!!

