Tags

, ,

Edited: I worked on block No 4 and finished block No 3 – any other No’s are just wishful thinking ;-o Spent the free hours of today with making the 5th block (except doing the embroideries and appliques) and finishing block No 4 (the last of the stitcheries). No you can’t see it – will have to wait until daylight tomorrow. But I feel kind of satisfied how the BOM progresses and yup, I think the color scheme is pretty and upbeat. I confess, I do have to struggle with my inner color choosing self every now and then, since I still have a tendency to fall back on using my same-old-same-old choice of colors ๐Ÿ˜‰

I made something utterly yummy for our evening meal along with salads and a nice variety of cold cuts. It’sd not my invention at all, but I saw it on that cooking show that the Cake Boss hosts and thought – now that is something that would go down well with The DH. Have no clue on what it was called in Italian but let’s call them “Deep Fried Mozzarella Sandwiches”. Here is what I used; breadcrumbs flavored with 2 mashed garlic cloves, chili flakes, salt, black pepper, finely chopped parlsley and Anjou style Chili Powder. Chili flakes and chili powder is my idea ๐Ÿ˜‰ I did a large batch so will have these flavored crumbs at hand for later endeavors. A lightly beaten egg. Some flour. A Buffalo Mozzarella cheese. Slices of white bread from which you take out rounds – even numbered and spread some red pesto on one side of each rounds. So you slice up your mozzarella, dip it into the flour. take two rounds of bread, place a slice of mozzarella between, add a little pressure. Then dip the bread-cheese-bread into the beaten egg, then into the breadcrumbs. Let the rondelles rest a bit on a wooden cutting board. Heat a good amount (not just a dribble in the middle) of vegetable oil into a frying pan (for this I prefer peanut oil since it’s almost without taste and withstand the frying heat very well)), check if it’s hot enough by dripping some breadcrumbs into it. If it sizzles, it’s ready. For safety I strongly recommend that you have a lid at hand, in case the oil get overly hot and start to misbehave. Fry the rodelles until they are golden brown all around and enjoy. That melted cheese probably rose the numbers of Kcal of today a bit more than I had planned ;-9 In fact, they are so filling, that next time I think I do half the batch and make them kind of smallish. Well, if you make them small (like 5cm i diameter) you probably could serve them as starters at a dinner party ๐Ÿ™‚

Well my eyes are starting to cross over, so I better close the computer ๐Ÿ˜€

